Railway stations in Coimbatore

Coimbatore Junction, is the primary railway station serving Coimbatore city.

   Coimbatore is one of the fastest growing tier-II cities in India. And because of that, the city is well linked to the rest of the country by all means of transportation. Railway stations in Coimbatore are well connected to the rest of the Indian Railway Networks.

Train service in Coimbatore started in 1861. Following the completion of the Podanur–Madras line, which connects Kerala and the west cost of India to the rest of India. Coimbatore railway stations are part of the Salem division of Indian Railways’ Southern Railways zone.

The Coimbatore–Shoranur Broad Gauge Railway line runs through Coimbatore. Podanur served as the headquarters for the Coimbatore railway division until 1956. In 1956 The headquarters were relocated to Olavakkode, Kerala.

The Olavakkod railway division was renamed Palakkad railway division in 1980. And, later in 2006, a new railway division was formed with Salem being its headquarters. 

Coimbatore Junction, which is the Southern Railway zone’s second-largest revenue-generating station after Chennai Central.

Coimbatore North Junction, Podanur Junction, Peelamedu, Singanallur, Irugur Junction, Perianaikanpalayam, Madukkarai, Somanur, Sulur, and Thudiyalur are other major railway stations of Coimbatore city.

List of railway stations in Coimbatore

NameStation code
Coimbatore JunctionCBE
Podanur JunctionPTJ
Coimbatore North JunctionCBF
Irugur JunctionIGU
Periyanaickenpalayam railway stationPKM
Tiruppur Somanur railway stationSNO
Sulur Road railway stationSUU
Thudiyalur railway stationTDE
Karamadai railway stationKAY
Kinathukadavu railway stationCNV
Ettimadai railway stationETMD

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.